Melissa’s Kitchen

I was fortunate enough to grow up in a household where my mother home cooked most of our meals. Food and drink has, and probably always will be the center of our family time (we are Italian if you haven’t figured that out yet).

My mom passed on her passion and love for cooking to myself and my two sisters, who as adults now love to cook for others. My knowledge for how to cook and what to look for when it comes to high quality ingredients just comes naturally to me. The more I talk to people about food, and what you should eat, the more I realize the isn’t the case for everyone.

The best advice I can give for successful clean eating is to have a fully stocked kitchen that has all the items you need on hand and ready to go. Here are some of my go-to items that I keep in my kitchen.

imageimageimageimage

This time of year is my favorite for public market shopping. I keep squash and sweet potatoes in my kitchen all fall and winter long. Acorn, butternut and spaghetti squash are my favorites ( check back later this week to see what I do with them!). You will always find garlic, onions and shallots ready to be added to dishes. Seasonal fruit is great to keep on hand as well for a quick healthy snack or for something sweet after dinner. Buy all these things at the public market to save some money!!

I always keep a stocked freezer. In here you will find extra meat ( like chicken, Applegate Farms Bacon, and Seven Bridges Beef). I also keep Ezekiel bread and frozen berries on hand for quick breakfasts and smoothies. You will also find frozen spinach and kale. I buy these fresh in bulk and freeze them. Often times I throw the frozen leaves right into a smoothie, but love to sauté them also and add to scrambled eggs or burgers.

Prepping food ahead of time is always a great way to be successful when it comes to at home clean eating, but the first step in stocking your kitchen with the right items. Making meal plans and having an idea of what you want to cook for the week will help when it comes to food shopping and will help you avoid over spending and wasting food.

Hope this helps! Check back later this week for some fun fall inspired recipes!

 

 

Leave a Reply

