I’ll Start on Monday….

I have always been one of those people, you know the ones who wait for the 1st of the month, or a Monday to start a new habit or change something about my life. My husband Chad always makes fun of me for it, but I guess it just always made sense in my brain. You can’t possibly change your world on a Tuesday afternoon.

There has been a lot about my life that I have wanted to change lately. Exercising more, managing stress better, getting better sleep, taking more time for me…blah blah the list can go on. Well, yesterday was a Monday, and it was also the 1st of the month, and guess what I did to change these things. Absolutely NOTHING. I still didn’t put myself first and spent a lot of the day adding things to my plate instead of taking any away. Now I know the life I have chosen, owning my own business, is not an easy one. It brings with it challenges that I still am learning how to work around, but the last few weeks, both Chad and myself have been overworked and underslept and our bodies are paying for it. We are both fighting being sick more often than normal and energy levels are very inconsistent. It is currently 4:11pm and I could probably go to sleep if I had the chance.

So here it is…you are witnessing, possibly for the first time ever, a conscious decision to make a change on a Tuesday afternoon. I’m putting my foot down. I’m going to learn to say no to things that arent worth my time and energy. I’m going to learn that my routine needs to come first and that everything else will find a spot in my life. I am going to learn that its ok to delegate and have things done for me and to let others help, especially if they offer.

Thanks for listening to my rant. I figured if I put it out there than it becomes real, instead of just being a “want” inside of my head. Remember there is always an opportunity to change something that isnt working. By taking a step, even if its a small one towards your overall goal its progress towards change. Don’t wait for Monday or a new year’s resolution to make your life better and become a better you. You owe it to yourself to step it up and change TODAY.

Stay well.

MC

Leave a Reply

