I’m Not Perfect

I’m not perfect. I know I know, its hard to believe. You are thinking, but Melissa you are so pretty and funny and strong and humble (haha by now hopefully you realize I am joking) about all that. The not being perfect thing,  thats true.

This post was sparked by an email / conversation that I had with a good friend this morning. We talked about holding yourself to a certain level of standards, but also the importance of being flexible with yourself and allowing yourself to be human.

We live in a world where everything is instant. You send an email and expect a response right away, if your food takes too long to make you get annoyed. You expect instant results in fitness and in life. We all know this is not a realistic way to go through life yet we fight it everyday.

I can be very hard on myself. I hold myself to high standards when it comes to quality of work, consistent nutrition and performance in the gym. I am inherently in a leadership position everyday and sometimes that pressure can get to me. Sometimes I don’t want to work hard, sometimes all I want to eat is cookies. Just because I have taken on the role that I have, doesnt mean that this thing we call life is easy for me.

That being said, I have learned some things about how to take a step back and let yourself be human, accepting that sometimes you can’t do it all perfectly, and sometimes thats ok. I have been able to admit lately that I can’t do it all. I have gotten better at delegating and letting people help (which if you know me and my crazy Italian OCD is a huge thing for me). I was always the kid in school that would “work in a group” and then just do it all myself becuase no one can do it as well as me. That worked then, but now that I have an ever growing to-do list that doesn’t really work anymore. Accepting this has been a huge step.

Often times I focus on the negative things. Like I am not as consistent as I want to be with my food, or I am not performing in the gym as well as I think I should. Switching my thought process to what I have accomplished has been a big help for me. Saying things to myself like, for being a gym owner who works 10 hour days you are kicking ass in the gym or great job getting that hour for yourself in today with all the work you have to do. Praising yourself for what you did rather than what you arent doing is a powerful thing.

Lastly, understanding that progress is progress has helped tremendously. Everything doesnt need to change today. Change one small things and those small things become bigger and bigger things. Habits arent created overnight. It takes time, repetition and consistency. If you can do something successful one day, it will motivate you to continue to do it the next day and the next day, until the life you lead is the one you want.

My best advice, don’t be so fucking hard on yourself. Be a good person, get off your ass, love yourself and work hard. Be proud of yourself and everyone will follow suit. And eat the damn cookie every once in a while.

Peace,

Melissa

Leave a Reply

