Oh Shit, I have turned into my Mother

9991

It is a funny transition going from a child, to a teenager to an adult. As a woman you are naturally compared to other woman in your family, mainly your mother. As a child your mom is your everything, except when she says no. As a teenager your mom is always wrong and has no idea what you could possibly be going through. As an adult you find a new respect for your mom and realize that no matter how much you fight it you will indeed turn into her one day.

As I have gone through these stages of life I have always loved, respected and appreciated my mother. Somedays I may not have shown it, but it was always there. Along with this, I have maybe in someway avoided being like her because no one wants to turn into their mothers….right?

At 30 years old, and just recently finding out that I will soon become a mother myself, I have realized that this couldn’t be farther from the truth. I would be proud to become my mom and can only hope to be a mother like her one day.

We just celebrated my mom’s 60th birthday. At 60 years old she not only looks 40 but is healthy and full of life. Growing up, and still to this day she has always given everything to make others happy, especially her family. She is one of the most generous people I know. She taught us right from wrong, how to treat people and how to demand respect from others, how to truly be genuine, honest and reliable. She says what she means and does what she says. She is a no-bullshit fiery Italian woman, but she makes me proud to be her daughter everyday.

2453_1056904995992_7208678_n

As I embark on this adventure of becoming a mom (or at least growing a human inside me for now) I have reflected a lot on my childhood and what kind of mother I would like to become. If I become my mom (which Chad says I already have most days) I couldn’t be happier.

So Mom, thanks for everything you have done and continue to do for me. You have set the bar high and can only hope I live up to what you have shown your children. I am excited for the next chapter in my life and am grateful to have you along for the ride as a friend, confidant, and babysitter.

Leave a Reply

