If You Died Tomorrow…What Would People Say About You?

While driving to the market yesterday morning with Chad we were listening to a local radio show. Every Thursday morning they have a girl come on the show who is looking for a date. Interested men call into the show and are asked a number of questions to help said girl determine which guy would be suitable for a date.

Although I think this whole concept is stupid, they did ask one question that sat with me all day. “If you died tomorrow, what would people say about you?” Of course the two people on the radio answered in the shallowest way possible. “Funny to be around, always kept you laughing, life of the party”. But this question got me thinking…If I did die tomorrow, would people have deeper, more important things to remember me by then just, Oh, she was funny.

Chad and I have a conversation similar to this all the time. Maybe not specifically this topic, but one that can definitely relate back to this. As small business owners we deal with lots of people everyday. Some of these people are our friends and members and some are other businesses that we work with. The other day Chad said, how great was it that that company did what they were supposed to do? He paused, we looked at each other and almost unanimously we said, How sad is it that we are excited about a company simply doing what they are supposed to do?

More and more I look at the society we live in, and for lack of better words, people are shitty to eachother. People are always looking for a way to get a deal or scam someone out of money, or simply just not doing what they say they are going to do. As a business owner, 50% of the work I do is chasing down others who aren’t doing their jobs. Something just doesn’t seem right there.

This never ending conversation and reflection that Chad and I have not only has helped us become the business owners we are today (which I would like to think of as understanding, relaible, trustworthy and honest), but has also helped shape how I live my life and how I treat the people in it. I want people to be able to say that I was always there when they needed me. That if I say I’m going to do something you can bet your ass that I will get it done. That I was funny and a good time to be around, but also when push came to shove I knew when to be serious and was always willing to work. That I was respectful and actaully gave a shit about people.

When we were at my parents house this past weekend we got into a discussion about religion and how we want to raise our child. I won’t get into too much of that here, because I don’t think it’s necessary, but bottom line and the end result of the conversation was that no matter what you choose to believe in, the type of person you choose to be shouldn’t differ. Imagine how much better the world would be if we all lived at a higher standard? If we not only wanted to be better people, but we actually were. If we helped those around us that truly needed it. If we committed to things and actual followed through on them. If we put our phones down and actually paid attention to what was happening around us.

Too often people get stuck in a mindset of “give me more, beacuse I deserve it”. Look at your life, at your behaviors, do you really deserve it? Are you the best person you can be? Are you contributing to a society of self entitled, disrespectful assholes, or are you breaking the norm? Are you honest, reliable, respecful? Do you actually care about the well being of others or are you so worried about yourself to even care?

Hopefully this post motivates you to reflect and truly think about the mark that you are leaving on the world.

Leave a Reply

